nihilism, you drown my body and soul.

I can play along,

I can open my eyes each morning to a new day but an old routine,

One adopted when my mouth first took a breath of fresh air,

And was forced down my throat until i swallowed.

I can close my eyes and pretend i don’t prefer the reality that’s rested in the sheets of my

bed and the feathers of my pillows,

I can love who you tell me to,

I can cry when you want me to;

I can play along with your lie

Until the last piece of oxygen has left my lungs,

And my heart has taken it’s final beat,

Leaving the blood cold in my not long warm body.

 

I can play along,

But i don’t want to;

I don’t want to move my counter around the board and wait for the inevitable.

Leave a Reply

