what to live for (?)

I want to tell you to live for the sky when it’s painted salmon and lilac.

I want to tell you to live for the smell of toast and freshly ground coffee in the morning.

I want to tell you to live for waking up with the sun in your eyes and forgetting where you are.

And i want to believe it,

I really want to,

But i can’t convince you when i’m trying to myself.

I question why we need a reason at all;

Why can’t we just live to be?

But even i don’t believe that

And i don’t think you do either,

As much as i’d love to,

As much as i’d love to be content as who i am,

And who this world is,

I’m not.

As humans we should want to survive,

Right? Isn’t that how it works?

So why is it that me and you, and so many others want so badly the opposite?

Okay, maybe not so much the opposite but a reason;

A reasonable reason,

And if the only viable suggestion that we can think of is living for another;

Loving another,

Although ideal;

I don’t want my only justification of being alive to be dependent on love and being loved.

Because everything is god damn temporary,

And no one’s going to be there forever.

So what happens when they leave?

Leave a Reply

